Hypothyrodism and Gluten. Foods Containing Gluten That May Surprise You.

Going Gluten Free in Naperville,IL Gluten Containing Foods That May Surprise You. Dr Richard Hagmeyer Naperville Insitute For NeuoMetabolic Solutions.

Suffering From Low Thyroid Function? You Must Avoid Gluten.

If you have a Chronic Health Problem then you know how serious I believe avoiding Gluten is. Avoiding Gluten is not a fad or something trendy! It is an absolute MUST if you desire to regain control over your health and chronic Health condition. The following is a comprehensive (but not complete) list of foods that do contain gluten or that may contain it. This list can be used as a guideline for those with gluten intolerance or celiac disease. Many items listed below are traditionally considered safe. However; it should be noted that many of the traditionally safe grains have been studied to cause and to contribute to damage yet they continue to be recommended by the gluten free food industry.

TRUE Gluten Free Diet Guidelines – Avoid All of These…

Wheat Barley (malt) Rye Oats Sorghum* Millet* Teff* Triticale Spelt Durum (semolina) Einkorn Emmer Corn (maize)* (for a list of hidden Corn Ingredients Click Here.  Rice (does not include wild rice varieties but does include brown rice)* Groat Graham Amaranth*** Buckwheat*** Quinoa***

*These grains are classically considered gluten free, but are not recommended on a TRUE gluten free diet.

*** These items are technically not grains, but are at high risk for cross contamination and not recommended on a TRUE gluten free diet unless verification can be obtained. These pseudo cereals are also very high in glutamic acid and should be discouraged as substitutes for patients with neurological symptoms.

Misc. Food Additives or Processed Foods That Can Contain Gluten

MSG Modified food starch Textured vegetable protein Hydrolyzed plant protein Hydrolyzed vegetable protein Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate Hydroxypropylated Starch Pregelatinized starch Vegetable gum Vegetable protein Extenders and binders Maltodextrin (wheat or corn based) Dextrin Maltose Non Dairy Creamer Seasonings (check labels) Natural Flavors Smoke flavors Artificial Flavors Natural Colors Artificial Colors Caramel color and flavoring Soy Sauce Miso Bouillon cubes or stock cubes Candy may be dusted with wheat flour; ask. Canned soups – Most are not acceptable. Cheese spreads and other processed cheese foods. Chocolate – may contain malt flavoring. Cold cuts, Wieners, Sausages – may have gluten due to cereal fillers. Dip mixes Dry sauce mixes Honey Hams – can be based with wheat starch in coating.  Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt – check all dairy. Cows are fed grains and many react to dairy for this reason. Grass fed dairy recommended (or avoid dairy altogether). Instant Teas & Coffees – cereal products may be  included in the formulation. Mayonnaise – check thickener and grain based vinegar ingredients Mustard – Mustard powder may contain gluten Oil, frying – Check for cross contamination or corn based oils. Poultry and meats –

Check out the flavorings and basting and inquire about meat glue Sour cream – May contain modified food starch of indeterminate source. Dry roasted nuts and honey roasted nuts French fries in restaurants – Same oil may be used for wheat-containing items. Gravies – check out thickening agent and liquid base. Vitamin supplements (different brands contain grain based ingredients – check the labels carefully) Baking powder (commonly contains grain – wheat or corn)

The Grasses

Many people want to use wheat, barley, rye, and oat grass (not the seed) as a supplement in the diet. Technically, these do not contain gluten as they are the grass part of the plant. However; it is recommended that these be avoided to prevent the possibility of cross contamination.

Alcoholic Beverages that contain gluten-

Beer Malted beverages Grain based spirits (many claim that distillation removes gluten…Gluten Free Society recommends avoidance regardless)

Non Edible Items That May Contain Gluten (Read Your Labels)-

Stamps and envelopes Toothpaste Lipstick Hairspray and Shampoo Detergents Pet Food Medications and Vitamins Lotions Playdough Makeup

If you have questions about the what proper testing includes to identify a Gluten Sensitivitiy contact our office at 630-718-0555.

free thyroid consult

I am always amazed at how many people diagnosed with IBS or Crohns have been tested conventionaly for Gluten and have had Blood work come back “normal.” Conventional testing for Gluten Sensitivity will miss 8 out of 10 people who truly have a gluten sensitivity. Dont settle for conventional testing. This Mistake could be costing you your Health.

Call Today and start your road to recovery. 630-718-0555

Other articles you may Enjoy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: